23wk update…. A little complaint. TMI

Hi all! This pregnancy has been great. Though I do have to do a little complaining… I deserve it right? 🙂 If you have a weak stomach skip the next paragraph. You’ve been warned!

Last night I started to have lots of acid in my stomach and started to feel awful. As the night went on I went to bed to be more comfortable with my head elevated and still no relief. I woke up around 1am with intense acid pain. I had to get up. I took 2 food enzymes and within a 1/2 hr I felt the urge to throw up. Which is something that I never do…(If you recall I didn’t even get morning sickness with this or my other pregnancies.) It wouldn’t stop coming. My nose and throat hurt for a while afterwards. I drank some cold water and then was sleepy enough to go to bed. I woke up this am and still had the acid and felt awful. My upper back still hurt, had a headache (with pain behind my eyes) and I just felt yucky. I drank some water & took some Tylenol. Not to long later I felt the urge again to throw up. Luckily it wasn’t as much. So I was scared to put anything into my body. Though I know that I needed something. So I slowly drank some water and then after a while I was kind of hungry, but not really…what do you eat? So I tried my morning coffee with my protein powder in it. It helped and I was able to hold it down and haven’t gotten sick since. I laid in bed all day and barely ate. I took a hot bath, drank a green smoothie with protein powder in it, took more Tylenol and my headache finally went away. I had to get ready for my OB apt. I laid around for a while after I got out b/c I just felt crappy!

So I will be 23wks on Wed and this is my 22w6d update…

I’ve gained 4.5lbs in the last 3wks
BP was 122/72
Measured 29wks. That’s 6wks ahead. Last OB that saw me had big fingers and I thought he was over measuring by the way he was acting.

I’ll be going to OB office ever 2wks now. OB wants me to see a Dr. every week. So that’s alternating with MFM. OB also wants me to cut back my hours. He wasn’t happy that I worked 63hrs in a row. He knocked me back to 35hrs a week. I’ll be taking my note to work tomorrow and see how they plan to adjust my schedule.

OB also told me to take Zantac when I need it since I’m having issues with acid. He said it happens more with multiples as it has something to do with more progesterone and softens up the esophagus more and lets in more acid. I took one an hour ago and it’s not gone… Some mild relief, but that’s it.

Baby at 23wks
At 23 weeks, baby’s really getting ready for her big debut, listening in on what’s going on in the outside world. And you’re getting ready too. Just remember: While having the nursery painted and stocking it with diapers is important, there are some other pressing things you should have on your radar. Namely, financials. Around week 23 is a good time to call your and your partner’s insurance agent to check how you’re currently covered and decide what adjustments you’ll want to make for baby. You might also want to start thinking about writing a will, if you don’t have one, or updating your current one. How’s baby’s savings account going? If you’re like, “what savings account?” that’s okay. But decide whether or not you want to start one for her. One study found that kids who have their own savings account are more likely to go to college, and another one estimated the average cost of raising a baby until age 18 to be over $226,000. Whoa! Let’s multiply that by 3…YIKES!

your baby’s the size of a grapefruit!
At about 10.5 to 11.8 inches and about 12.7 to 20.8 ounces, baby’s not just getting bigger, she’s getting even cuter.

Sorry no pic…I’ll take it tomorrow and post 23 & 24 belly pics after my MFM apt. on Jan. 17th.

Have a great night/day!

One thought on “23wk update…. A little complaint. TMI

  1. I hate acid reflux. I have it every preg. Toward the end of
    Preg I am
    Taking Zantac every 12 hrs. I hope you find some relief soon.

Leave a comment